“Assalamu alaikoum brother! Where are you from”

When Muslims ask me where I’m from I like to respond Montreal. They think I misunderstood the question. I think they misunderstood my point.

Posted on December 12, 2011, in Quotes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. hahaha, now that is quite funny! its a good start for the blog! 😉

  2. good… better to identify with the community you live in then the land of racial heredity.

    In the end, no matter how monolithic the culture of a nation, the national expression based on racial profile is a shallow contrived identity.
    If we look far enough back we are all from Adam, (peace upon him), and although many choose to organize socially in self-similar deliberate community, the children of Adam who enjoin together based on mutual value will always win my respect more than the ones who national identity is supported by racial identity and xenophobia.

Leave a comment